Sosban Riders shortlisted for Welsh Club of the Year


SOSBAN RIDERS ARE FINALISTS in the 2013 USN Welsh Cycling Awards.

Welsh Cycling has today revealed the finalists in the 2013 USN Welsh Cycling Awards, with unsung heroes and champions of cycling from across Wales making the final cut.

After receiving over 100 nominations in the first year of the event, there was a tough job ahead for the panel of judges to narrow down the entries and select the winners. Colin Docker, Director of British Cycling, Ann Bevan, Senior Officer at Sport Wales and Gareth Griffiths, Sports Correspondent for Media Wales formed the panel. Gordon Thornton, the brother of Colin Thornton, also contributed to the selection of the Colin Thornton Memorial for Welsh Junior Performance.

The winners will be announced in a ceremony at the De Vere Village Hotel, Cardiff on Friday 4thOctober 2013 where the Sosban kids and parents will be rubbing shoulders with world champions and high profile riders from Sky.

A film crew from Welsh cycling is due to attend our session to make a short file that will be shown at the award ceremony.




This year’s finalists are:

Club of the Year sponsored by S & D Sealants Ltd

Sosban Riders

Towy Riders

Abergavenny Road Club

Services to Commissairing

Dave Robson – Rhos on Sea Cycling Club
Ken Williams & Glyn Evans – Ystwyth Cycling Club
Colin Simmons – Newport Cycle Speedway Club

Individual Race Organiser

Talbot Thrush – Junior Tour of Wales
Bill Owen – Abergavenny Festival of Cycling
Tudor Thomas – Bynea CC Tour of Carmarthenshire and Time Trials

Cycling Innovation

John Wheat – Newport Social Cycling Network
Bonna Williams – Daisy Chain Events
Maindy Flyers Youth Cycling Club – Cyclo Cross and MTB Training Sessions and Events

Unsung Hero

Roger Sims - Unattached
Andrew Storey – Newport Olympic Cycling Club
Reg Pharoah – Cardiff Ajax Cycling Club

Coach of the Year sponsored by Craft

Stephen Lane – Abergavenny Road Club
Alan Davis – Maindy Flyers Youth Cycling Club
Alan Overson – Velo Club Melyd

Colin Thornton Memorial for Welsh Junior Performance

Amy Hill – Abergavenny Road Club
Elinor Barker – Team USN
Scott Davies – Liverpool Mercury

Paracyclist of the Year

Tom Smith – Lumet-VDBG Steenhouwerij
Lauren Booth – Newport Youth Velo Cycling Club
Mark Colbourne MBE – Para-T Cycling Team

Club Cyclist of the Year

Zach Bridges – Newport Olympic Cycling Club
Hefin Evans – Towy Riders
Matthew Beckett – Cardiff JIF

Elite Cyclist of the Year sponsored by Kilsby and Williams

Becky James – Abergavenny Road Club
Luke Rowe – Team Sky
Geraint Thomas – Team Sky
Elinor Barker – Team USN

Outstanding Performance of the Year sponsored by Cwmtillery Glass Centre

Scott Davies – Liverpool Mercury
Becky James – Abergavenny Road Club
Elinor Barker – Team USN
Geraint Thomas – Team Sky

A Lifetime Contribution Award will also be awarded on the night to an individual who has made a lifelong contribution to cycling in Wales. The Wiggle Project 2018 Champions will also be awarded their prizes as part of the celebrations.

Chair of Welsh Cycling, Nick Smith said:

“We have had a great response from clubs and members in Wales during the nomination process. I know the panel found it difficult when judging due to the high quality of nominations, a testament to the contribution of Welsh Cycling members.

The group of finalists are a credit to Welsh Cycling, their clubs and fellow members. There are many who didn’t make the final shortlist, but all those nominated should be proud that they have been recognised by the Welsh cycling community for the commitment to the sport.”





Further reading..